2. Add your details
Follow the in-app instructions and upload your details and required photos for you and any others wishing to take part in your calls.
3. Follow the appropriate booking process
Some prisons will let you request calls through the app and others will require the person in prison to request a call first.
Yes, you will need to install the Prison Video app from the App Store or Google Play Store on your phone or tablet and then create an account. You will need to upload a photo of your ID and your face. You will also need to add other people who wish to take part in the video calls with you, such as children.
Further details of what you need for a video call are provided here.
Yes, children can join a call if they are registered and approved as extra participants in your Prison Video account. This means you will need to add details of the children who wish to take part in the video calls, and a clear photo of each child’s face. No other ID is required for children unless requested by the prison.
Yes. The service will work on most modern tablets running Android or iOS. When registering for the service please put in your landline phone number when it asks for your mobile number.
Please make sure your head is straight and your face is looking directly at the camera. Use the on-screen guides to help you.
If you are still having difficulties, please contact our support team.
Once the call is booked you will receive a notification. The date and time of the call will be shown in the app.
Only people who have been added as participants on the app and approved by the prison will be allowed on the call.
Just before the call time you will receive a reminder notification. You should open the app and await the start of the call.
The app will ring once your contact is ready to start the call. This may not be exactly at the call start time, so please be patient.
You will need to agree to the call rules and allow all required app permissions before you are able to join the call.
Once the call has started, you will be able to see and hear your contact, and they will be able to see and hear you.
During the call the system will continually check the identity of the call participants to ensure there are no unauthorised participants. It will also check for signs of inappropriate clothing or nudity. If it detects any of these things it will pause the video feeds.
In most cases the video call will unpause automatically, but rules breaches may result in the call being terminated and/or participants being banned.
To minimise disruption we recommend you and any additional participants remain relatively still in a well-lit place. We also recommend a minimum internet connection speed of 1Mbps.